WHAT’S THE SUN UP TO?

Sunspot cycle 24
http://solarscience.msfc.nasa.gov/predict.shtml
Most conversation about global warming seems to be centered on human-induced carbon emissions. In my study of meteorology, I learned about the complexities of the earth’s heat balance. The primary source of heat comes from the sun and it has not been constant during the earth’s history.

It is well documented that climate cooled in the centuries around 1600 AD during the Maunder minimum sunspot event. I confess I don’t know what our climate will be when my grandchildren reach my age. They may see a cooler climate with some occurrences of snow in north Florida, or they may see citrus trees growing in the Carolinas.

As a meteorologist, my focus has been on our weather. I am not necessarily interested in numbers, such as the data and computer models. My mind wanders into what’s beyond what we know. That’s why I’m showing the Sunspot cycle. Ever since my days of learning Science in Lake Shore Junior High School, and Physics and Chemistry in Jacksonville’s Robert E. Lee High School, wanted to learn more about the world we live in.

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, better known as NOAA, says it best. http://www.noaa.gov/about-noaa.html Using science they say their reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor working to keep citizens informed of the changing environment around them.

0 Responses to “WHAT’S THE SUN UP TO?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

